Road Safety Award

Evonik Road Safety Award 2017

Grantend this year for the second time, the Evonik Road Safety Award acknowledges and rewards the contributions to road safety of public authorities worldwide. The prize is bestowed by Evonik upon identification of the winner by an independent jury of internationally recognized experts in the field of road safety, transport, and city design.
The Evonik Road Safety Award is designed to support sustainable road safety initiatives. Key criteria for the winning project/initiative are its contribution to
• Road safety (60%)
• Sustainability (20%)
• Innovation (10%)
• Replicability (10%)
Award overview
Project candidate - Any completed infrastructure initiative which includes some form of road marking with at least a one year track record
Qualified applicants - Public authorities from a city, state, national or regional level, responsible for such an initiative.

The prize - 10,000€, which will be awarded in the form of a sponsored road marking application, a donation of traffic safety related items, or a donation to a non-profit organization.

The award ceremony will take place at a global or regional road safety event in late 2017.

May 31, 2017 - Deadline to submit applicationsAugust 2017 - The winning project to be announced
Late 2017 - Award ceremony

The Jury:


Dr. Adnan Rahman

General Director and senior transportation consultant, International Road Federation (IRF)
Read more
susanna zammataro

Susanna Zammataro

Executive Director and environment expert, International Road Federation (IRF)
Read more
prof markus oeser

Prof. Dr. Markus Oeser

Head of the Chair-Professor for Pavement Engineering & Director of the Institute for Pavement Engineering at the RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Read more

Paul J. Carlson, Ph.D., P.E.

Senior Research Engineer & Division Head, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
Read more

Application Process:

Please submit your completed application by May 31, 2017 to